Taking Care of Beesness

Did you know…

  • A single honeybee makes 1/10 of a teaspoon of honey over the course of her lifetime
  • Honey colour and flavour depend on the flower source
  • It takes one colony of honeybees to pollinate an acre of fruit trees
  • Honeybees are responsible for pollinating 1/3 of Canada’s food crops

I didn’t realize the importance of bees until I visited Canada Agriculture Museum‘s

Bees: A Honey of an Idea

virtual exhibit, sponsored by the Virtual Museum of Canada (via CHIN).

Canada Agriculture Museum's Virtual Exhibit "Bees: A Honey of an Idea"

Canada Agriculture Museum's Virtual Exhibit "Bees: A Honey of an Idea"

For five years I was a natural and cultural heritage interpreter in Ontario Parks, and through this experience (and growing up in the country) I developed a real appreciation of the wonderful assets nature gives us.  I love discovering and learning about the intricacies of the world’s living web, and I found that this site touched me personally because it highlighted the formerly unknown (to me) value of the stinging little suckers.  Yes, I was aware that bees were important for pollinating flowers, but I had no idea that $1billion of Canada’s agricultural economy relies on bees for the pollination fruits, veggies, and legumes, and that the quality of the fruit (symmetry, size, etc) also relies on bee pollination.

I’ll also be honest here, I work with the designer of the site, but I truly think it’s the nicest virtual exhibit from the VMC yet! The homepage is a beautiful “flight”  across a fields, orchards, gardens and beehives, with buttons that take you to cute pages filled with pictures and detailed content.  The information is thorough, the pictures are beautiful, and the content is interesting.

Last point – I found out about Bees exhibits through the Council of Heritage Organizations in Ottawa‘s newsletter, and if you’re interested in checking out some live Bee exhibit action, here’s where you can visit:
Municipal Library of Gatineau –   Bowater
855, de la Gappe Boulevard, Gatineau
7:15 p.m. to 8 p.m.
Thursday, February 18, 2010

or, from March 1st onward, you can visit Canada Agriculture Museum to see the full Taking Care of Beesness exhibition! Also, as of May, there will be a live hive at the museum!

And send me some feedback if you like the site, or if you visit the real exhibit!  It’s always nice to know I’m not the only one interested in the wonderful world of nature (and museums!).

Leave a Reply

